Wednesday 6 May 2009

The Cure - The Head On The Door

In 1985 The Cure released their 6th studio album The Head on The Door. It was a bit of a departure from their previous albums especially the darker side of things.

This is when The Cure finally become hit makers. The stand out tracks Close To ME and In Between Days are still dance floor classics.

Screw, Kyoto Song and The Blood all have the dark lyrics and playful inventiveness that so typifies the cure.

It was on this album that the cure finally found what they were looking for, and indeed what The Smiths and The Pixies both found as well. That perfect eighties blend of dark lyric and danceable music that set a tone for a generation.

Track Listing

  1. "In Between Days" – 2:57
  2. "Kyoto Song" – 4:16
  3. "The Blood" – 3:43
  4. "Six Different Ways" – 3:18
  5. "Push" – 4:31
  6. "The Baby Screams" – 3:44
  7. "Close to Me" – 3:23
  8. "A Night Like This" – 4:16
  9. "Screw" – 2:38
  10. "Sinking" – 4:57

No comments:

Post a Comment