Wednesday 13 May 2009

Critical Junction Paul Simon There Goes Rhymin' Simon

Released in 1973 a mere 16 months after his debut solo album, There Goes Rhymin' Simon was the best thing Paul Simon would do Until Graceland in 1986.

there is a big rhythm and blues influence on the record with gospel singers performing on tracks such as Love Me Like A Rock and Tenderness. St Judy's Comet is a beautiful lullaby while the big statement on the record is American Tune. Its Simon's very own state of the union address.

kodachrome, Something So Right and of course Love Me Like A Rock all flesh out the very fine music on one of Paul Simon's best works.

All in all its an up beat positive album, full of optimism and romance all the things we have come to expect in a Paul Simon album.

Track List

  1. Kodachrome – 3:32
  2. Tenderness – 2:53
  3. Take Me to the Mardi Gras – 3:27
  4. Something So Right – 4:33
  5. One Man's Ceiling Is Another Man's Floor - 3:44
  6. American Tune – 3:43
  7. Was a Sunny Day – 3:41
  8. Learn How to Fall – 2:44
  9. St. Judy's Comet – 3:19
  10. Loves Me Like a Rock – 3:31

1 comment:

  1. Absolutely. I recently listened to this album after no hearing it for several decades and it not only holds up but seems timeless in the arrangements, lyrics and performance. A great album.