Tuesday 28 April 2009

Invisible Touch - Genesis

Released in 1986, Invisible Touch went straight to number one and spent 96 weeks in the charts. I could waffle on about the significance of the album, and what it did for Genesis, however I feel its best to turn to fictional psychopath Patrick Bateman to more eloquently describe it for you all.

"I think Invisible Touch was the group's undisputed masterpiece. It's an epic meditation on intangibility. At the same time, it deepens and enriches the meaning of the preceding three albums. Listen to the brilliant ensemble playing of Banks, Collins and Rutherford. You can practically hear every nuance of every instrument. In terms of lyrical craftsmanship, the sheer songwriting, this album hits a new peak of professionalism. Take the lyrics to Land of Confusion. In this song, Phil Collins addresses the problems of abusive political authority. In Too Deep is the most moving pop song of the 1980s, about monogamy and commitment. The song is extremely uplifting. Their lyrics are as positive and affirmative as, uh, anything I've heard in rock. "

Patrick Bateman (American Psycho)

Track Listing

  1. "Invisible Touch" (lyrics: Phil Collins) – 3:27
  2. "Tonight, Tonight, Tonight" (lyrics: Phil Collins) – 8:53
  3. "Land of Confusion" (lyrics: Mike Rutherford) – 4:45
  4. "In Too Deep" (lyrics: Phil Collins) – 4:58
  5. "Anything She Does" (lyrics: Tony Banks) – 4:07
  6. "Domino" (lyrics: Tony Banks) – 10:42
    • "In the Glow of the Night"
    • "The Last Domino"
  7. "Throwing It All Away" (lyrics: Mike Rutherford) – 3:49
  8. "The Brazilian" (instrumental) – 4:49

No comments:

Post a Comment